This important part of the annual Fortingall Art exhibition invites local schools, and individuals within the age groups given to produce a A6 size piece of art for inclusion in the competition. Each year the competition is very popular and attracts around 400 entries. The standard is very high and provides a challenging task for the panel of judges to decide the winners from many inspiring pieces of work.

The 2017 winners for each subject group (1st, 2nd & 3rd), together with those who have been awarded ‘Highly Commended’, are displayed below. A further award is given to the overall winner, decided by the 2017 artists who view the winners for all categories and decide which they like best.

Finally, a big thank you to all the teachers who helped to make this competition so successful.

P 6 - 7 2017 Judging


‘In the Style of…’

1st 2nd 3rd
Nursery Vincent Van Gogh £15 £10 £5
p 1-3 Laurel Burch £25 £15 £10
p 4-5 Andy Warhol £25 £15 £10
p 6-7 Wassily Kandinsky £30 £20 £15
s 1-2 Pablo Picasso £40 £30 £20
s 3+ Marc Chagall £50 £40 £30

Prizegiving: 6.30pm on Friday 20th July, in the Molteno Hall, Fortingall

Rules of Competition:

  1. Your Artwork can be in any medium, but must be A6 in size. (It should be capable of fitting within the frame on the postcard which will be provided)
  2. Entrants must be from Highland Perthshire
  3. Not more than two entries per person (ie one school entry and one home entry)
  4. All entries must be submitted by Friday 8th June 2018
  5. The judges decision is final.
Download Mini Art Competition entry form.

Please submit entries to: Breadalbane Academy Reception Desk for attention of Anna Seward.

Further details and Entry Forms available from the Breadalbane Community Campus Library where you can also collect a postcard.

For more information email:


Nursery ⋅ Butterfly World

1st £15 Louise McGregor, Breadalbane Academy Nursery
2nd £10 Leo Cromb, ABC Nursery
3rd £5 Myiah Quinn, ABC Nursery

Primary 1-3 ⋅ Tropical / Jungle

1st £25 Matilda Milton, Breadalbane Academy
2nd £15 Kyle Bell, Breadalbane Academy
3rd= £10 Freddie Brocklehurst, Grandtully Primary School & Leo Maguire, Glenlyon Primary School

Primary 4-5 ⋅ Marine Life

1st £25 Ewan Stevenson, Breadalbane Academy
2nd= £15 Tamsin Robb, Pitlochry High School & Abbey Lever, Pitlochry High School
3rd £10 Richard Oldham, Glenlyon Primary School

Primary 6-7 ⋅ Arctic / Antarctic

1st £30 Joris Kolesinskas, Breadalbane Academy
2nd £20 Rosie Bernard, Pitlochry High School
3rd £15 Jessica Garnett, Breadalbane Academy
Highly commended: Rylee Kimpton, Kenmore Primary School

S1 – S2 ⋅ Coastline

1st £40 Chandra Hepburn, Pitlochry High School
2nd £30 Katie Cardew, Pitlochry High School
3rd £20 Grace Warren, Pitlochry High School

S3+ ⋅ Shells, Rocks & Fossils

1st £50 Holly Wyllie, Pitlochry High School
2nd £40 Salene Scougall, Pitlochry High School
3rd= £30 Kyra Lennie, Pitlochry High School & Beth Hay, Pitlochry High School